Monday, February 27, 2017

Starfall by Melissa Landers (Starflight book 2)

SPOILER ALERT! Starfall is a companion story to Starflight, Doran and Solara’s book. Reading the previous book isn’t necessary to enjoy Starfall but it will have a much bigger impact seeing as you meet Cassia and Kane. This book continues the story started in Starflight but centers on two different characters.

“When Princess Cassia Rose fled her home world of Eturia to escape an arranged marriage, she had no idea her sudden departure would spark a war. Now after two years hiding as a ship hand, she is finally returning to her beloved home, but not in the way she imagined. Shackled by bounty hunters, she is violently dragged back to account for her crimes. Her only solace is that the Banshee crew managed to evade capture, including Kane Arric, her best friend...with occasional benefits.

Meanwhile, Kane and the rest of the crew of the Banshee plan a desperate rescue mission. But when they arrive on Eturia, Cassia isn't exactly in need of heroics—she's claimed her birthright as Eturia's queen, but has inherited a war-torn planet simmering with rebellion. Cassia must make alliances, and Kane, the bastard son of a merchant, isn't a choice that will earn her any friends. Kane knows he will never find someone to replace Cassia—and is certain she returns his feelings—but how can he throw away his own promising future waiting on a queen?

When the outer realm is threatened by the dangerous Zhang mafia, Cassia, Kane and the rest of the Banshee crew uncover a horrifying conspiracy that endangers the entire universe. In the face of unspeakable evil, Cassia must confront her own family's complicated legacy on Eturia and decide once and for all who her real family is.” taken from Goodreads.com

I loved getting back into the Starflight world and catching up with the crew of the Banshee. This book centers on the story of Kane and Cassia and we delve deeper into their relationship and why Cassia fled from her home. I devoured this book over a weekend and I’m kind of sad to say goodbye to the Banshee crew.

Friday, February 24, 2017

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen book 3)

SPOILER ALERT! If you haven’t read the first two books in the series, Red Queen and Glass Sword, Stop! I don’t want to ruin one of my favorite series for you.

Here is a quick recap from Epic Reads of Red Queen and Glass Sword.
Please visit the Recaptains blog if you need an in depth refresher on Red Queen and Glass Sword.
Check out Book Series Recaps for refresher on the first two books.

“Allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl's spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down” - taken from Goodreads.com

Wow, the build up! I found the first part of the book somewhat slow. Mare is Maven’s prisoner and we finally see what living with Elera as a mother was truly like and how it affected Maven’s life. Hints, back stories and jaw dropping revelations are slowly revealed building up to the BIG event. (No spoilers!) I flew through the last part of the book but the epilogue Ms. Aveyard wrote has me hoping for a happily ever after even for a character that I use to dislike but now understand so much better. Not quite a cliffhanger but everyone’s futures are definitely left up in the air.

The series will conclude with book four in 2018.

Sunday, February 19, 2017

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight book 1)

“Magic lives in our darkest corners.”

“Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.” - taken from Goodreads.com

I don’t know why I didn’t read this book sooner, but in a way, I’m glad since I won’t have to wait years for the series ending. Even though some readers may see some obvious clich├ęs and overused tropes, the writing in this book is phenomenal I actually listened to the audio version and the narrator was spot on in her delivery! I cannot wait to see what book two brings Echo in her new adventure.

The next book in the trilogy is The Shadow Hour.

Monday, February 13, 2017

By Your Side by Kasie West

“When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?” - taken from Goodreads.com

Another quick Kasie West's read about two teens who fall in love after being locked in the library for several days. A great ending but I would have liked to see how Dax's situation played out.

Visit Kasie West’s website.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Long Way Home by Katie McGarry (Thunder Road book 3)

SPOILER ALERT! Readers of the first two books in the Thunder Road series have already met Violet and Chevy. Fans of Isaiah and Rachel from Crash Into You play a part of in this story.
“Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.
It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.
But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness. Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.” - taken from Goodreads.com This is an incredible end to not only the Thunder Road trilogy but provides some insight to Isaiah Walker’s story from the Pushing the Limits series. The major hint that is dropped near the end of his story in Take Me On is revealed. Fans will devour this story to see how things work out for everyone.
Visit Katie’s McGarry’s website.

Sunday, February 5, 2017

Windwitch by Susan Dennard (The Witchlands book 2)

SPOILER ALERT! If you haven’t read the first book in this series, Truthwitch, Stop! I don’t want to ruin the story for you.
“Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…
After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.
When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?
After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.” - taken from Goodreads.com
Told in alternating viewpoints from Merik, Safi and Iseult’s separate journeys, fans of this series will be delightfully surprised to see how the story plays out and our favorite characters grow. Although the three are separated most of the book, readers get the opportunity to know everyone on a much more individual level. But that ending sets up what should be a great next book.
The Witchlands series continues with Aeduan’s story, Bloodwitch in 2018.                       Visit Susan Dennard’s website.
Visit the Witchlands’ website.