Thursday, May 26, 2011

The Body Finder series by Kimberly Derting

The missing dead call to Violet. They want to be found.The Body Finder - Book One

Violet Ambrose has a unique ability, the dead call to her. By using an “echo”, she is able to sense a body’s location through smells, sounds and sometimes colors that they emit but only a body whose life has been cut prematurely short by the actions of another. Not only do the dead have an echo, but the person responsible for their death bears an identical imprint of their victim’s echo as well. A killer whether they mean to or not, cannot hide from Violet. An ability inherited from her grandmother, Violet is the only person who knows the echoes are there.
Violet discovered her first human body when she was eight-years-old while in the woods with her father. Now eight years later, she discovers body number two while celebrating the end of summer at the lake with her childhood friend, Jay Heaton. Soon the small town of Buckley, Washington is terrorized by a serial killer who is targeting young girls. For the first time Violet begins to see her ability as a gift in hopes she can located the killer before there is another death.
But sensing dead bodies isn’t the only complication in Violet’s life. Jay is causing some confusion in Violet’s life. Over the summer, he came into his own and now the girls at school have taken notice and so has Violet. Struggling to deal with her feelings towards her friend since childhood, Jay seems to be the same old Jay, except when someone else takes interest in Violet. When Violet hatches a plan to look for the serial killer, Jay reluctantly agrees to help. When things don’t go as planned and Violet puts herself in danger, Jay becomes fiercely protective and Violet begins to hope that his intentions are more than friendship.
What happens when Violet unknowingly attracts the killer’s attention and she becomes his next target? And can Violet figure out her burgeoning feelings for Jay before it’s too late? Equal parts mystery and romance, readers will be left on the edge of their seats to find out not only who the killer is but whether Violet and Jay will take their friendship to the next level.
Desires of the Dead - Book Two

On a day trip to Seattle with a friend, Violet Ambrose soon hears the echo of a body waiting to be found. When she realizes that it is locked in a shipping container, she places an anonymous phone call. Violet unwittingly draws the attention of the FBI, who realize that she possesses a special talent, even if they are not sure exactly what she can do.

As Violet is trying to figure out the rules of her new romantic relationship with her best friend Jay, she unwittingly becomes the target of someone's obbession. When Jay starts to spend more time with Mike, a new boy in town, Violet begins to flirt with the idea of using her abilities to help the FBI. But when the FBI becomes interested in Mike's family, Violet is drawn in to a dangerous mystery.
There are currently a total of four books planned in the Body Finder series with book three expected to be published in 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment